cheers banner

Cheers Awards

Celebrating and recognizing true leaders in medication safety.

Each year, ISMP presents numerous awards to individuals, institutions and groups who have demonstrated exemplary commitment to the continued science and study of medication safety through innovative and creative projects, programs, educational efforts, standard setting, and/or research.  Winners are recognized for their positive examples and/or teamwork through their implementation of medication safety strategies.

Some of the many past winners have included representatives from hospitals and health systems, professional associations, retail pharmacies, and federal agencies as well as individual advocates.

ISMP Cheers Awards

Cheers Award winners demonstrate a willingness to share learning beyond the organization (e.g., presentations or articles have been written and widely disseminated; tools shared on intranet, and through newsletters).  Winning institutions and individuals ensure that momentum for implementation of medication safety strategies stretch far beyond a few individuals or a single department and are fully integrated into their organization’s culture and clinical practice.

ISMP Lifetime Achievement Award

The ISMP Lifetime Achievement Award, which is traditionally presented at the annual Cheers Dinner, honors an individual who has had a significant career history of making ongoing contributions to patient safety and has had a major impact on safe medication practices. It is given in memory of ISMP Trustee David P. Vogel, RPh, who worked tirelessly to help promote safe medication practices, including acting as a member of the consultant team for health system site surveys.

Nomination and Selection Process

Nominations for ISMP Cheers Awards are accepted from June through September. Medication safety leaders from all healthcare disciplines and all practice areas, including acute, long-term, home care, and community settings, are eligible to submit a nomination and to receive an ISMP Cheers Award.