Christina Michalek, BS, RPh, FASHP

Director, Membership & PSO

Christina Michalek, BS, RPh, FASHP is the Director of Membership and Patient Safety Organization (PSO) at the Institute for Safe Medication Practices and Administrative Coordinator for the Medication Safety Officers Society. She began working with ISMP as an external consultant and advisor in 2001 and later joined the ISMP staff in 2010. At ISMP, Chris works collaboratively with health-system leaders and clinical staff in order to define, design, and improve medication safety initiatives.  She has a passion for empowering others to enhance medication safety efforts and enjoys collaborating with healthcare practitioners and sharing best practices through educational programing at national, international, state, and local-level professional conferences. Chris also manages the update and analysis of ISMP’s Targeted Medication Safety Best Practices for Hospitals and is the ISMP lead for medication-related technology issues. Additionally, she has been serving as a Patient Safety Analyst to ECRI and the ISMP Patient Safety Organization since 2013.

Chris is the Chair of Leapfrog’s Barcode Medication Administration Expert Panel, she Co-Chaired ECRI’s Partnership for Patient Safety Health IT Clinical Decision Support for Drug-Allergy Interactions workgroup, she co-leads ECRI’s Partnership for Patient Safety Health IT Safe Practices to Reduce CPOE Alert Fatigue through Monitoring, Analysis and Optimization workgroup, and she represents ISMP on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Safe Injection Practices Coalition. Chris has had clinical instructor and adjunct faculty appointments at University of the Sciences in Philadelphia, Temple University School of Pharmacy, Wilkes University School of Pharmacy, and is a lecturer at Jefferson College of Pharmacy. She has more than 20 years of acute care hospital pharmacy experience during which time she provided care to a variety of different patient populations before advancing into management and ultimately department leadership roles. Her experience includes clinical practice and departmental management in a small community hospital, clinical support and management at a mid-sized community hospital, and pharmacy department leadership in a large integrated healthcare network. She served as Director of Pharmacy at Lehigh Valley Health Network and as Director of Pharmacy at Doylestown Hospital. Chris is a member of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), the Pennsylvania Society of Health-System Pharmacists (PSHP), and the Pediatric Pharmacy Association (PPA). She is a past presidential officer of the Bux-Mont chapter of PSHP and Pharmacist of the Year for PSHP.  She currently serves on the Small and Rural Hospital Section Advisory Group for ASHP, the Special Interest Group on Medication Safety for PPA, and the Meeting Programming Committee for PSHP.

Christina earned her pharmacy degree from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and completed a PGY1 residency at Suburban General Hospital. She is a fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).