#### 22ND ISMP CHEERS AWARDS



### TUESDAY - DECEMBER 10, 2019 STONEY'S ROCKIN' COUNTRY **6611 S LAS VEGAS BLVD #160**

LAS VEGAS, NV







Please join the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP) in Las Vegas, NV, to celebrate our 25th anniversary and the 2019 Cheers Awards Dinner. We will be honoring a group of healthcare leaders who have gone all in to develop best practices and programs that prevent medication errors and protect patients. You can help recognize these individuals and organizations as well as ISMP's historic milestone by making a donation and/or attending the awards dinner.

# How the cards fall for the evening

6:00 - 8:00 PM

MINGLE, EAT, AND PLAY

Open bar, gourmet food stations, games and activities

8:00 - 9:30 PM

**KEYNOTE AND AWARDS PROGRAM** 

Welcoming Remarks, Janice Dunsavage, RPh, MS, Chair, ISMP Board of Trustees

Presentation of Cheers Awards, Michael R. Cohen, RPh, MS, ScD (hon.), DPS (hon.), FASHP, President, ISMP



# Keynote Speaker

MARCUS SCHABACKER, MD, PHD, is President and Chief Executive Officer of ECRI Institute, an independent, trusted authority on the medical practices and products that provide the safest, most

cost-effective care. A board-certified anesthesiologist and intensive care specialist, Dr. Schabacker has 35 years of healthcare experience and 20 years of senior leadership responsibilities serving the medical device and pharmaceutical industries. He has held leadership roles in medical affairs, preclinical and clinical development, regulatory affairs, quality, research and development, and patient safety. Dr. Schabacker also is an affiliate assistant professor at The Stritch School of Medicine at Loyola University Chicago. In 2019, he was elected to the Fellowship of The College of Physicians of Philadelphia.



## <u>L'ifetime Achievement</u> **Award Winner**

RITA SHANE, PHARMD, FASHP, FCSHP has been committed to making medication safer for patients for more than 40 years. Dr. Shane is currently Chief Pharmacy Officer and Professor of Medicine at Cedars-

Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, CA, and also serves as the Assistant Dean of Clinical Pharmacy Services at the University of California-San Francisco School of Pharmacy. She has been active in state and national pharmacy associations and co-authored legislation in 2018 requiring hospital pharmacists in California to update medication lists for high-risk patients when they check in and again when they go home. Dr. Shane has won numerous professional awards, including the Harvey A.K. Whitney Award from the American Society of Health System Pharmacists, and has been listed among the "50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety" by Becker's Hospital Review. She has published 100 papers and given more than 200 presentations nationally and internationally.