News Release

President of ISMP Receives ASHP’s Zellmer Lecture Award

Horsham, Pa. — Michael R. Cohen, RPh, MS, ScD (hon.), DPS (hon.), FASHP, President of the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP), has been selected to present the ninth annual William A. Zellmer Lecture on September 25, 2018. The lecture award was established by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) and the ASHP Research and Education Foundation to honor individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in advancing healthcare-related public policy that has improved the safety and effectiveness of medication use through the engagement of pharmacists.

Dr. Cohen is being recognized for his medication safety advocacy and leadership of many landmark patient safety initiatives. He founded ISMP in 1994 and launched the first of five ISMP Medication Safety Alert!® publications in 1997. The newsletters and alerts now reach more than a million health professionals in the U.S. as well as regulatory authorities and others in more than 30 foreign countries. 

In addition to serving as co-editor of the ISMP Medication Safety Alert!® publications, Dr. Cohen also co-edits, ISMP’s website for consumers, and is the Chair of the International Medication Safety Network (IMSN). He has been a member of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee and Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee and is currently a consultant to FDA.

Some of the many other awards and recognitions Dr. Cohen has received include ASHP’s Harvey A. K. Whitney Award and the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award from the National Quality Forum and Joint Commission. He also has been recognized as a MacArthur Fellow by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

The lecture and award ceremony will take place during ASHP’s annual Policy Week activities. 


More News